LBJ Ceremony

Young Alumni Rising Star

The Young Alumni Rising Star Award was created in 2015 by the Alumni Association Board of Directors.  The award honors Texas State alumni who are under the age of 40.  Recipients of this award will demonstrate a level of excellence which positively represents the University, and serves to inspire current students and other recent graduates, to excel in their work and recognize the important impact of their experience as a student at Texas State.  

2019 Young Alumni Rising Stars

Ms. Katherine E. "Katie" Forrest
B.A., Psychology, '07
Mr. James "Taylor" Collins
B.E.S.S., Athletic Training, '05; M.S., Physical Therapy, '08
Co-founders, EPIC Provisions
Austin, TX

Ms. Bharati G. Naik
M.A., Mass Communication, '05
Planning Producer Newsgathering, CNN London
London, England

Mr. Jon David "J.D." Perez
B.B.A., Computer Information Systems and Management, '05
Head of Retail and Visual Merchandise, Hugo Boss 
Mexico City, Mexico




Young Alumni Rising Star Award Recipients

2016 - Robert E. Bardwell, II
2016 - Lindsay Bira
2016 - Eric S. Weaver
2017 - Chris Elley
2017 - Randy Rogers
2018 - Maj. Brenda D. Bustillos
2018 - Lesli Ginn
2018 - Leopoldo "Polo" Sandoval
2019 - Taylor Collins and Katie Forrest
2019 -  Bharati Naik
2019 - Jon David "J.D." Perez