LBJ Ceremony



Teaching Award of Honor

In the spirit of our roots as a teacher's college, the Alumni Association Teaching Award of Honor recognizes, encourages and rewards superior Texas State classroom teachers. All Texas State University professors, lecturers, associate professors, assistant professors, and instructors are eligible for this award.  

The Texas State Alumni Association is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Teaching Award of Honor.  The award will be presented at the annual Faculty and Staff Convocation in August, along with a framed certificate and gift of $1500.

Current Texas State faculty and staff may submit nominations for this award. Self-nominations will be not be accepted.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 22 at 5:00 p.m. (CST).

Criteria for Selection:

1. Excellence in Instructional Delivery and Design
Provide specific examples of how the nominee demonstrates passion and innovation in the classroom and ways in which he/she successfully engages students via unique teaching models or methods.

2. Subject Matter and Competency
Provide specific examples of the nominees’ competency in their respective core subject(s), including ways they have expanded their own knowledge and scope of study, unique research they have completed, and accolades or recognition they have received from students, peers, supervisors or professional organization.

3. Impact on Student Success
Provide specific examples of the nominee’s success connecting with students, both inside and outside the classroom, and how he/she has had a positive impact on their students’ educational experience and achievement.

Nomination Procedure:

1. Submit the online nomination form
2. Submit the current resume/CV of the nominee
3. Submit at least one (1), but no more than three (3), letters of support from non-family members.

The required documents may be submitted by email to, or by mail or hand delivery.

The required documents must be received by the Office of Alumni Relations prior to the deadline of Monday, April 22 at 5:00 p.m. (CST). Both the nomination form AND all additional required documents must be received prior to the deadline for a nomination to be considered complete. Self-nominations will be not be accepted.

Teaching Award of Honor Recipients

2018 Dr. Lynn Denton
2017 Dr. Ronald Johnson
2016 Dr. Rodney E. Rohde
2015 Dr. Russ Hodges
2014 Dr. Steven Furney
2013 Dr. Ann Elizabeth Burnett
2012 Jiyun Kang
2011 Mary Ellen Cavitt
2010 Barbara Davis
2009 Sue Beebe
2008 Robert Habingreither
2006 Steve Wilson
2005 Vicki West
2004 Dr. James W. Pohl
2003 Dr. Gregory Passty
2002 Christopher J. Frost
2001 Dr. Mary Ann Stutts
2000 James Bell
1999 John Paul Johnson
1998 Paul Nathan Cohen
1997 Laurie Hayes Fluker
1996 Vedaraman Sriraman
1995 Gary Michael Zielinski
1994 Byron Dale Augustin
1993 Beverly Ann Chiodo
1992 Rebecca Bell-Metereau
1991 Clarence C. Schultz
1990 Kathleen E. Fite
1989 David M. Glassman