LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award

The LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award is given annually by the Alumni Association to a student as recognition for outstanding leadership, character, campus and community involvement, and academic success. Recipients must be candidates for graduation in May of the year that the award is conferred or have graduated the previous August or December. The recipient is recognized at the May commencement ceremony and receives a $1,500 stipend.

Nominations for the 2018 award are due on:
Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. CST


  1. Nominee must be a candidate for graduation at Texas State University in the spring of the year that the award is conferred or have graduated the preceding August or December.
  2. Nominee must have completed at least sixty (60) credit hours at Texas State University.
  3. Nominee must have demonstrated leadership, character, campus and community involvement, and academic success at Texas State University.
  4. Nominee must be a person of such integrity, stature and demonstrated ability that the faculty, staff, students and alumni of the university will take pride in, and be inspired by, their recognition.

Nomination Procedure

  1. Complete nomination form
  2. Submit to the Alumni Relations Department by 5:00 p.m. CST on Thursday, March 1, 2018

The nominee will receive further communication from the Office of Alumni Relations. In order to complete the nomination, the student will be asked to submit the following to the Office of Alumni Relations by Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. CST.

  • Student ID number
  • Graduation date
  • Resume
  • Brief statement summarizing how they meet the criteria for the award.

Finalists will be contacted by Friday, March 23. In person interviews are tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, March 27 - Thursday, March 29, with final notifications to follow prior to April 10.

Thank for for considering a nomination for the LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award, however at this time nominations are closed. Please visit our website for award information.

LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award Recipients

2017 - Fatima "Toomi" Al-Dhahi
2016 - Hayden Payne
2015 - Sarah Tennent
2014 - Vanessa Cortez
2013 - Rebecca Saathoff
2012 - Kelly McGauhey
2011 - Christopher Covo
2010 - Gordon Taylor
2009 - Matthew Priest
2008 - Jose Antonio Banos
2007 - Rachel Brody
2006 - Diana Molina
2005 - Alvin R. Curette
2004 - Lesley K. Lawrence
2003 - Maxwell Clarke
2002 - Andrew Russ
2001 - Eric S. Weaver
2000 - Wayne R. Oquin
1999 - Christina Ann Schroeder
1998 - Jeremy R. Gage
1997 - Belinda Ann Munoz
1996 - Natalie Sally Abbott
1995 - John M. Holley
1994 - John David Schlemmer
1993 - Jonnie L. Wilson
1992 - Rhonda Marie Ratcliff
1991 - Reginald "Reggie" C. Rivers
1990 - Clint N. Swindall, Annette S. Collie
1989 - Christopher Sommer
1988 - David Dandeneau
1987 - Donald Willig
1986 - Rob E. Patterson
1985 - Michelle Carnes (Magness)
1984 - Jay D. Hiebert
1983 - Elizabeth Wilson
1982 - Michael A. Miller
1981 - Michael K. Ferris