2015-2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Honorees

Scott Emerson Headshot Bw Flat SM.png Edited

Scott Emerson ('75)

Founder and CEO of the Emerson Group, a sales management company with partners in Europe, Asia, and North and South America and an active supporter of a multitude of nonprofit, charitable, and educational organizations including Children’s Miracle Network

Mitchell Appointment 16

Ron Lynn Mitchell ('72)

Vice chairman/president and CEO of the Horseshoe Bay Resort, an internationally recognized destination; volunteer endeavors includes co-founding CASA of Burnet County (now CASA of the Highland Lakes Area), which serves abused and neglected children

Ernie Sadau 16

Ernie W. Sadau ('85)

President and CEO of CHRISTUS Health, overseeing the second- largest not-for-profit healthcare system in Texas, including more than 50 hospitals and other care facilities across three states, providing more than $250,000,000 in community benefits to the markets they serve

204.16 Diana Schick 0043 Bw Flat SM

Diana McGinty Schick ('71)

Internationally renowned Christian author, speaker and outreach advocate; founder of Creative Living International, a nonprofit organization through which she’s authored, published and distributed 25 “user- friendly” Bible study books, with translations into nine languages

Jim West 16

Jim West ('77)

President of Jet Maintenance, Inc., Capital Star Oil and Gas, AW Trucking, and Modelo Energy, a prolific community volunteer in his hometown of Victoria, Texas, and founder of the Jim West Challenge collegiate golf tournament at Texas State

Screen Shot 2022 10 17 At 2.06.05 PM

Marvin Whiteley ('97)

Director of the John R. LaMontagne Center for Infectious Disease at the University of Texas; research has been recognized with multiple awards, including being selected as a Burroughs Wellcome Investigator in Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease

2015 Distinguished Alumni Award Honorees

Angell Gonzalez

Susan Angell-Gonzalez ('80)

Choreographer, director, entrepreneur, and first member of the Strutters Hall of Fame; recipient of the Texas Dance Educators Association Hall of Fame Award, and the Texas Dance Educators Association Lifetime Achievement Award

Untitled Design

Mary Rose Brown ('79)

Executive vice president and chief administrative officer for NuStar Energy L.P.; recipient of the Silver Anvil Award; inducted into the San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame

Screen Shot 2022 09 26 At 4.41.10 PM

Ambassador Oliver Del Cid ('95)

Appointed Belize’s ambassador to Mexico in 2011 and non-resident high commissioner to Jamaica in 2014; continues to promote bilateral relations and tourism, trade, and investment across the Americas

Guastella Beth 7951 Edit 2 SM Edited

Beth Guastella ('84)

After one year as president and COO of upscale baby product retailer, giggle, Inc., rose to chief executive officer, building on 30 years as a leader for international brands like Stuart Weitzman, Kate Spade New York, and Hermes

Keller 15

Rod C. Kellar, Jr. ('81)

President of Segway, Inc., highly regarded in the technology industry for his innovative leadership; received the prestigious Technology Marketer of the Year Award in 2003 from Technology Marketing magazine

200.15 Ramos Head Shot (2014) Copy Sm

The Honorable Nelva Gonzales Ramos ('87)

Appointed by President Barack Obama to serve as a judge in the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas, where she presides over civil and criminal cases in the Corpus Christi division; former state district court judge in Nueces County