2007-2009 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2009 Distinguished Alumni Award Honorees

164.09 Darren Casey

Darren B. Casey ('81)

National real estate developer; Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year; selected by Texas Business magazine as Texas’ Top Land Developer

165.09 Ross King

William Ross King ('58)

Founder and president of Crown Worldwide, Inc., the dominant poultry company in Central Asia; founding teacher at Kazakhstan Institute of Management

166.09 Shawn McCormick

Shawn McCormick ('85)

Chairman, CEO and co- founder of Zoey LP, which helps children dealing with asthma; created a pediatric asthma education program adopted in five states

167.09 John Moreau

John Moreau ('84)

Competed in 10 U.S. Olympic trials in fencing and modern pentathlon; served as an official at the 2008 Olympics; coached U.S. modern pentathlon team

Screen Shot 2022 10 17 At 3.26.53 PM

Wayne Oquin ('99)

Award-winning composer with premieres by The Danish National Symphony, The Munich Philharmonic, The Nashville Symphony, and The Philadelphia Orchestra; Chair of Musicianship at The Juilliard School

2008 Distinguished Alumni Award Honorees

160.08 Chip Carlisle

Paul "Chip" Carlisle ('71)

President of Wells Fargo’s Texas Region as well as Border Banking; board member of U.S. Consumers Bankers Association

161.08 Debs Cofer

Debs Cofer ('56 & '60)

Management consultant for sales, marketing, and manufacturing in Hong Kong and Japan; retired Dow Chemical international executive

162.08 Douglas Foshee

Douglas L. Foshee ('82)

Founder and owner of Sallyport Investments, LLC; former chairman and CEO of El Paso Corporation, owner of North America’s largest natural gas pipeline system and one of North America’s largest natural gas producers

Screen Shot 2022 09 28 At 4.13.13 PM

Carolynn Seay Vietor ('68)

Recognized leader in the rodeo industry; re-elected to a three-year term in 2013 as president of the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association; WPRA’s Woman of the Year Award

2007 Distinguished Alumni Award Honorees

Screen Shot 2022 09 28 At 4.17.24 PM Edited

Heriberto Guerra ('84)

Chairman and CEO of Avanzar Interior Technologies; retired vice president for SBC Southwest; Hispanic Alliance on Free Trade


Steve Kemble ('82)

Solutions magazine Event Planner of the Year; International Special Event Society International Volunteer of the Year; Event Planners Hall of Fame


Marilyn Nolen ('66)

Conference USA Volleyball Coach of the Year; third on the active NCAA Division I victory list when she retired with a career record of 809-363-12

158.07 Payne, Wyatt

Wyatt G. Payne ('80 & '82)

Plastic surgeon specializing in wound healing; surgical education and reconstruction surgery; America’s Top Surgeons and Top Plastic Surgeons by Consumers’ Research Council of America


Michael R. Young ('71)

Owns 10 restaurants and seven Krispy Kremes with 1,500 employees; “Master Entrepreneur of the Year” by Inc. magazine