African-American Chapter

African-American Chapter

Events  Get Involved  Scholarships  Mentoring  Leadership



We host an annual African-American Alumni Reunion in conjunction with Homecoming each year. The 2016 reunion featured a welcome mixer, campus tours, alumni tailgating, and a farewell brunch. With over 75 participants, we posted our fourth consecutive year of raising over $500 for the Earl Moseley, Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Learn more about our annual Homecoming Reunion.

Get Involved

To receive communications from the African-American Chapter, please log in to this site and make sure your official alumni record, including your email address is up to date.  While logged in, update your email preferences to reflect the African-American Chapter.  You can also like us on facebook


We actively fundraise for the Earl Moseley, Jr. Memorial Scholarship in efforts to make it a permanent endowed scholarship fund at Texas State University.  In 2016, the scholarship hit the $25,000 goal to reach endowment status so that funds are protected in perpetuity.  The Earl Moseley Memorial Scholarship is named in memory of Earl Lee Moseley, Jr., a Southwestern University graduate, who arrived at Texas State (then Southwest Texas State) in 1985. While at Texas State, Earl worked as a Hall Director, Assistant Director for Multicultural Student Affairs (MSA), Development Officer for University Advancement and at the time of his death Coordinator of Campus Activities.  In addition, he was a member and advisor to Pi Kappa Alpha, advisor to the Student Organization Council (SOC), Student Association for Campus Activities (SACA) and FOCUSED.  He was a dedicated member of the Coalition of Black Faculty and Staff, Staff Council, and Homecoming Steering Committee, among other roles at Texas State.  During his tenure, he mentored a great number of students and was instrumental in their development into successful leaders.  Donate to the Earl Moseley, Jr. Memorial Scholarship now.


We are currently developing a mentoring program for current students to connect with alumni.  Stay tuned for more updates or contact Chapter Leadership to get involved.

Chapter Leaders

President – Beverly Woodson Day
President-Elect – Temple Carter
Immediate Past President - Tracy Lovelady Parker
Chief Financial Officer - Leroy Feist
Recording Secretary - Darryl Pilate

Christopher Burnett
Mary Edmon
Keylan Morgan
Ron Seay
Tamica Seay
Toyia Stewart
De’Ana Walls


Committee Chairs
Homecoming - Tamica Seay & Christopher Burnett
Membership - Mary Edmon
Mentoring - Toyia Stewart
Public Relations - To Be Determined
Scholarship - Ron Seay & Branston Harris


back to top


All alumni, fans and friends are welcome to attend African-American Chapter events and activities.  Alumni Association membership supports the growth of the African-American Chapter.  Become a member today.