LBJ Ceremony

Distinguished Alumni

Since the inception of the award in 1959, only 202 of Texas State's 160,000 alumni have been recognized with the Distinguished Alumni Award.  The first award was presented to Senator Lyndon B. Johnson, who later served as thirty-sixth President of the United States of America.  To this day, Lyndon B. Johnson's legacy inspires excellence at Texas State University as it maintains the unique distinction of being the only university in Texas to have graduated a U.S. President.  The award honors its recipients and demonstrates the remarkable opportunities available at Texas State University.  Learn about all of the recipients in the Distinguished Alumni Yearbook.

2014 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Six Bobcats have been selected as the 2014 recipients of the highest honor bestowed upon a graduate of Texas State University, the Distinguished Alumni Award.  We are proud to welcome as Distinguished Alumni:

Dr. Patrick L. Cox, Class of 1988, MA, History
President, Patrick Cox Consultants, Historian and Author, Wimberley, Texas

Ms. Veronica Muzquiz Edwards, Class of 1986, BA, Journalism
Founder and CEO, InGenesis, San Antonio, Texas

Mr. Robert Grogan, Class of 1970, BBA, Business Administration
Professional Artist, Robert Grogan Fine Art, Sun Valley, Idaho

Mr. John H. McCall, Class of 1970, BBA, Business Administration
Vice Chairman, Farouk Systems, Houston, Texas

Brig. Gen. John E. Michel, Class of 1987, BA, Political Science
Commanding General, NATO Air Training Command-Afghanistan; NATO Training Mission/Combined Security Transition Command-Afghanistan; and Commander, 438th Air Expeditionary Wing, Kabul, Afghanistan

Dr. Melba J. T. Vasquez, Class of 1972, BA, English
Psychologist and Executive Director, Vasquez & Associates Mental Health Services, Austin, Texas


Upcoming Events



New Braunfels Chapter German Night



Houston Chapter Networking Night



Pre-Game Party at New Mexico State

Event Calendar