As a member of the Alumni Association, you're in the company of excellence. Each year we honor many of the exceptional students, first-rate teachers, and distinguished leaders who make us proud. Their significant contributions to our great university and country inspire all of us to do our best!

In addition to President Lyndon B. Johnson, luminaries include Ponce "Heloise" Cruse ('74), who writes the popular "Heloise to the Rescue" Good Housekeeping monthly column and has written 11 books, hosted a national radio show, and is a nationally known speaker; the Country Music Hall of Famer, George Strait ('79), who has had more Number One hits of any singer of any kind of music in history; and star of stage, screen, and television Powers Booth ('70), who was inducted into the Texas Hall of Fame in 2009.


The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni who have achieved prominence and made a significant impact on the lives of others through their profession, accomplishments, affiliations, and service to the society and the University.

2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
Scott Emerson, Business Administration, ‘75
Ron Lynn Mitchell, Education, ‘72
Ernie W. Sadau, Hospital Administration, ‘85
Diana McGinty Schick.  Home Economics, ‘71
Jim West, Political Science, ‘77
Marvin Whiteley, Biology, ‘97

Learn More »

The Young Alumni Rising Star Award honors Texas State alumni who have completed a minimum of 36 hours at Texas State University and are under the age of 40.  Recipients of this award will demonstrate a level of excellence which positively represents the University, and serves to inspire current students and other recent graduates, to excel in their work and recognize the important impact of their experience as a student at Texas State.

2016 Recipients of the inaugural Young Alumni Rising Star Award
Robert E. Bardwell, II, Physics, ‘00
Lindsay M. Bira, Psychology, ‘08
Eric S. Weaver, Clinical Laboratory Science, ’00; Masters Health Administration, ‘05; Graduate Certificate in Health Information Management, ‘11

Learn More »

This prestigious award was designed to recognize, encourage and reward superior Texas State classroom teachers. Texas State professors, lecturers, associate professors, assistant professors and instructors are eligible for this award. 

2016 Teaching Award of Honor Recipient
Dr. Rodney Rohde

The LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award is based on leadership, character, campus and community involvement, and academic success.

2016 LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award Recipient
Hayden Payne, Bachelor of Business Administration, '16

 All-Time Award Recipients

Nominations currently open for:

Distinguished Alumni Award
Young Alumni Rising Star Award
Deadline: Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. CST

LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award
Deadline: Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. CST.